Testing rigor — test stages and types

I don’t generally do testing and my knowledge in this area is minimal, so here’s a short memo on this topic.

Different test stages (phases) are:

  • Unit Tests
  • Integration Tests
  • System Acceptance Tests and
  • User Acceptance Tests.

Structural-type testing (White-Box) includes:

  • Source code review
  • Code walk-through
  • Path or branch review
  • Condition or decision testing

Functional-type testing (Black-Box):

  • Positive and negative testing
  • Boundary value or invalid input testing
  • Stress or performance testing

Other types of testing:

  • Regression testing
  • Procedure verification
  • Capacity testing
  • Usability testing
  • Portability testing
  • Security testing or
  • Vulnerability testing

Type of system to be tested: from firmware through regular software and webservice to a custom build.

Leave a Reply